Old News is Good News

If you’ve followed my blog or attended one of my workshops, you know I’m huge fan of News-2-You and creator Jacquie Clark. The newspaper was a major part of my lessons when I worked in Life Skills programs.  I continue to use it effectively with my artic, language, fluency, and pragmatic kiddos.  Even though it is meant to highlight current events, I have found that many issues can be used year after year.  The recent issue on Maple Syrup Time is one example.  Every late winter will be maple syrup time, so that is an issue I will keep and reuse in the future.  Other issues I’ve saved have spotlighted places, inventions, and special people, which I can relate to the students’ curricula.

My favorite all-time reusable issue is one that was done about 10 years ago.  The topic is “Cold Season.”  I created all kinds of follow-up materials and lessons for this issue to reinforce ways to prevent the spread of germs.  Every winter I pull this issue and those lessons out for use in my speech/language groups.

While some issues of this wonderful newspaper are clearly time-constrained — one and done — many are not.  Rather than immediately toss printed back issues or delete their PDFs, think about the content and consider whether you could find another use for the story later on.  By saving and organizing those issues, you’ll be building a library of interesting materials to use for therapy.

If you’re not familiar with News-2-You, you need to be!  Here’s the link for more info: https://www.n2y.com/default.aspx.

Please add your comments.

