Using Children’s Books in Language Therapy

As I’m sure is true of many SLPs, I love books and I love language.  Crossword puzzles are part of my daily routine, Scrabble on my iPad is my new addiction, and I get a kick out of puns, riddles, and word games.  To encourage my students to read, I often allow them to borrow books from my private library as a reward for good behavior in therapy, and also to encourage articulation practice when reading them aloud to their parents for speech homework.  I send the books home in a sturdy plastic bag with a handle, and include a letter to the parents to explain how they can monitor speech production and expand language skills through the books.

There are three series of books that I just love using during language therapy sessions:

Fancy Nancy books by Jane O’Connor  are great for building vocabulary.  Nancy is always using “fancy” words, which she defines in context.  I have created worksheets for many of the books, which I will post on Speaking of Speech.com one of these days.

Amelia Bedelia books by Peggy an Herman Parish are great for teaching idioms and multiple meaning words, and learning to use context to figure out meanings.  Poor Amelia is so literal! Reading about her misunderstandings really helps students think, learn, and remember.

Carl books by Alexandra Day are beautifully illustrated stories, in many cases told with little or no words, so they are perfect for working on expressive language (verbal and written)  and story telling and retelling.

Fun stuff!

Please add your comments.

